Saturday, January 22, 2011

A Week of Ups and Downs

Wow, this week was a major challenge. Definitely a week full of ups and downs and a major test of how i am REALLY doing with this whole healthy eating thing! First I want to start with the "downs", that way i can end on a high note, lol (maybe :/) Well, there's nothing like having 2 kids ages 2 and under with double ear infections to put a little damper on one's exercise efforts! Talk about "hell week"! I did get in a really good run including some light "boxing" on Monday. Tuesday, going with my "amp it up every week" mantra, I did about 20 minutes of OnDemand workout stuff that was really intense. Aaaannnd then it went downhill from there. I was up all night Tuesday night... and Wednesday... and Thursday with sick babies. Not that I am complaining or like this is some new thing to me. I anticipate it, but it still sucks when things are going good and I am in a good routine. But it happens; it's life. I've learned how to roll with it. I still did really good with my eating, but then I started to feel a little under-the-weather myself. I knew this week was pms week and i was already nervous about weight gain/water retention, etc... But by Friday I was chilled and achy all over and super nauseous. I actually did try to run and I got about 20 minutes of really pathetic jog/walking in until i realized i needed to rest. All weekend I felt like awful with body aches, chills, and feeling like i was gonna barf.

However, I still have to give myself a little encouragement because i really stayed on my game with my eating. On Saturday night we ordered Chinese, and I got some steamed chicken and veggies with garlic sauce on the side. Not awesome, but good enough to satisfy a little craving. And SO much better than the usual General Tso's chicken with rice and egg rolls! Today, even with the Packer game, i only had a little snack and very small dinner and not even a drop of alcohol. I think i am starting to realize how much i shrunk my stomach! My appetite is about 1/3 what is was 2 weeks ago.

On another positive note, I have really begun to see the results of my daily workouts. My legs are amazingly stronger than when i began and my stamina for running is WAY up. I know i could easily do a good hour of working out with 30min of running and 30 min of other random cardio activities and stretching, but time management stands in my way on that one. Working out is just a small speck on the timeline of my evening which also includes dinner, watching kids so josh can run also, homework, bath time, play time, snack time, bedtime routines and activities, etc...

I am SO glad this week is over and i usually dread Sundays. But i welcomed it today, as this coming week has to be better than last! But for 14 days at this, I am damn proud of what i have accomplished. I foresee buying a new pair of jeans in another week or two as a reward! :)

No comments:

Post a Comment